Fitness · Healthy Eating · Lifestyle · Owning Your Own Business

Certified Personal Trainer – Wasn’t Easy, but Worth It

I recently completed my certification to be a Personal Trainer.  It wasn’t what I expected!

I LOVE learning (continuous learning, as in I never stop!)  I rarely, if ever, read fiction because personally I don’t believe that it improves me in any way.  It basically passes time that could be spent growing and learning.  If I do read fiction it’s historical fiction because at least there’s some history to glean from the hours spent immersed in a book.

I’ve always been a good student and most subjects come fairly easy especially if it’s something I’m excited about and nutrition and working out is something I’m absolutely excited about.  I also recently certified through Precision Nutrition which focuses on sports and nutrition, but this personal training certification threw me for a loop and it wasn’t something I could cruise through. I remember my upper division accounting courses seeming easier than this.

I had a total of 6 months to complete the online course and take the final test.  There was no open book and no cheat sheet or notes.  I thought I’d breeze right through it, but I’d hit the 5 1/2 month mark by the time I took the test.  I loved the challenge!

It taught me a few things:sport-2264825_640

Not everyone I work with will be able to pump out an hour weight lifting workout nor will they be able to knock out six miles on the road. Yes it’s common sense, but most trainers have their clients perform movements like they themselves do which most people can’t do.

Speaking of easing into it, it’s super important to build balance plus stability and improve flexibility unless you have a super human body.  These skills help with performance and prevent injury.

I know more about what works with nutrition and weight loss than they do! The course contained some seriously outdated advice.

80% of Americans experience lower back pain which doesn’t surprise me since people spend hours sitting at desks and watching TV compressing that spine.anatomy-2901127_640

 

I had to learn just about every bone and muscle in the body and how they worked together to support and help a body function not only in workouts, but how your body biomechanics affect everyday life.

It reminded me that learning isn’t always easy, but if it’s something you love and are passionate for then you’ll do the work necessary to get it done.

I was a nervous wreck and studied my heart out.  I had 2 hours to complete the test and I finished in about 1 ¼ hour.  Believe me I celebrated big!

Go after your goals this year and challenge yourself!

Leave a comment